On Friendship

In a recent conversation with a close friend, I apologized for sounding like a broken record for a particular issue.  Without skipping a beat, she replied, “Well, I bought the record.”  How fortunate I am to have such a good friend in my life.  I hope you have a friend like that, and if you don’t yet, perhaps you can be that kind of friend to someone and the favor will be returned some day.

 

Friendship Quotes:

Friendship isn’t a big thing – it’s a million little things.  – Author Unknown

I don’t need a friend who changes when I change and who nods when I nod; my shadow does that much better.  – Plutarch

I have friends in overalls whose friendship I would not swap for the favor of the kings of the world.  – Thomas A. Edison

It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.  – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”  Christopher Robin said this to Winnie-the-Pooh.  – A.A. Milne

In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.  – Albert Schweitzer

 

Merriam-Webster Dictionary definition of “friend”:

1  a: one attached to another by affection or esteem

b: acquaintance

2 a: one that is not hostile

b: one that is of the same nation, party, or group

3 one that favors or promotes something (as a charity)

4 a favored companion

5 capitalized: a member of a Christian sect that stresses Inner Light, rejects sacraments and an ordained ministry, and opposes war — called also Quaker

 

 

About Jennifer

Read more at https://thesparksproject.wordpress.com

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Relationship Sparks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

