Notes to Self While Traveling

I was recently out of town for a work trip.

 

Things that helped while traveling:

* Easy-to-read magazines, the kind that don’t require a lot of thinking… enough to keep you occupied on a plane or during wait times, but not overly so…

* Eye mask to help with deeper sleep, particularly when transitioning to different time zones.

* Lots of water to stay hydrated and keep my system relatively healthy since plane food and restaurant meals often have too much sodium.

 

Things that I thought would have helped but didn’t:

* Crocheting, which I anticipated to be relaxing and productive, but it just didn’t work out.

* Taking other/additional work with me…  Multi-tasking can have its drawbacks.

* Not checking email each day actually meant a build-up of work and sometimes delayed responses (business trip ≠ vacation).

 

Things that definitely did not help:

* Avoiding exercise…  Missing walks or running was just.not.good.  I managed a few morning yoga sessions in my hotel room, but I really needed to have done some cardio of some kind, too.

* Bringing a suitcase that was one size too small made for a very heavy carry-on backpack and less space for accumulated work-related materials and souvenirs for the trip home.

* Lack of vitamins…  Silly me, I didn’t want to deal with the “inconvenience” of vitamins, and I t-o-t-a-l-l-y felt the difference.  Next time, I will figure out how to continue my vitamin routine while away.

 

Things I was grateful for:

* Lovely little hot towels should be on all long-haul flights and domestic flights if you ask me.

* Small kindnesses from strangers included taller folks helping me store items in the overhead compartments, instructions on how to operate some gadget-y things, and pointing me in the right direction as needed.

* Free internet – enough said. 🙂

 

About Jennifer

Read more at https://thesparksproject.wordpress.com

Posted on December 13, 2011, in Professional Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

