time machine

Yesterday I transported back in time to when I was 12 years old. How, you ask?  Apparently there is a local time machine not far from where I live, and it’s called the “Roller Jam Skating Rink.”  For $7, I got to strap on these lovely rental skates…

…which I must say did not really compare to my Roller Derby friend’s totally rockin’ skates:

I was not deterred, however, from my complete and utter lack of coolness (she even had a skull & bones bandana people!).  I was determined to burn some calories and have some fun in the process.  My main goal truthfully was to not fall down.  I am happy to report that I stayed upright the entire time… Well, I did take several breaks to sit down and to catch my breath because I learned (quickly) over the course on an hour that roller skating is one mega-workout.  I definitely feel the presence of my core today. 🙂  After a quick search online, I found plenty of commentary affirming that roller skating is great for calorie burn and cardiovascular health.  If, like me, you haven’t skated in a long time, it’s okay.  Thankfully there is muscle and coordination memory.  If you haven’t skated before, I think folks who go to or work at skating rinks tend to be kind and helpful, so you’ll be fine.  With fun music and childhood flashbacks, I recommend breaking up your regular routine with a mini-adventure to your local rink.

Who said exercise has to be boring? 🙂

 

About Jennifer

Read more at https://thesparksproject.wordpress.com

Posted on July 30, 2012, in Healthy Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. organicgenerationteam

    Reblogged this on organicgenerationteam and commented:
    Love your Blog, come check us out!! If you don’t like us recommend us please!! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great time ~ would definitely bring back childhood memories for me, too …. I’ll have to find out if there is a rink in MY area!!! You ROCK Jenny!!!

Leave a Reply

