new normal

“Normal is nothing more than a cycle on a washing machine.” Whoopi Goldberg

It’s interesting to me how a person can adapt (whether she wants to or not) to a “new normal.”  Over the past few weeks, my normal routine consists of home –> work –> hospital, which is repeated each day.  Sure there is some variation like every other day when the elderly cat adds to my morning chores because he throws up or traffic might be worse on certain days compared to others or I receive an unexpected compliment on something I wore that day, but overall the pattern is the same of home –> work –> hospital. 

That said, there is a particular kind of comfort and stability to the routine.  It sure beats chaotic uncertainty if you ask me.  And in this new normal, I am learning to find (or steal!) moments of joy.  I cheer my mother up with silly gossip and we giggle together.  I appreciate each run or walk with my dog just a little bit more.  I squeeze in time for dear friends and their life ups and downs.  I complain less and less because I am seeing my values and priorities more clearly, and because really, at the end of the day when all is said and done, my life is pretty darn good in spite of or even maybe because of the drama. 

 

 

About Jennifer

Read more at https://thesparksproject.wordpress.com

Posted on September 23, 2012, in Healthy Sparks, Inspirational Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That is a great way to go about life, Jen; focusing on life’s simplistic beauty, and helping others, is what it’s all about:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

Leave a Reply

