snowball

So I didn’t get a grant that I applied for, and well, that was pretty darn disappointing. At first I couldn’t get beyond the first paragraph with the whole “We regret to inform you…” part, but later when I reread the email I learned in the second paragraph that only 6.5% of applications were funded. Hmmm… One person told me that the funding organization should have indicated on their website that folks had a “snowball’s chance in hell” in getting support. While I appreciated the sympathetic tone of that comment, I still had a hard time reconciling the time and effort spent on the application and the non-result. Another person with an air of efficiency said to solicit feedback and then try again when the funding cycle opens up. His overall business-like attitude was both helpful and annoying; the latter because I’m not quite at the point of treating these applications as “just business,” though for my well-being I am slowly finding that I must do so. Getting funding and more importantly getting published feels so high-stakes at this stage of my career. I want and need to catch a break. All that I’ve read about writing says that failure and editing and resubmitting are all a natural part of the process. I think I can get on board with that better if I caught a break sooner rather than later…

firstattempt

Image Source: http://piccsy.com/2011/11/fail-5hmgj944z/

 

 

 

About Jennifer

Read more at https://thesparksproject.wordpress.com

Posted on December 3, 2012, in Professional Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m sorry to hear this, Jennifer … and I agree … YOU (ESPECIALLY) DESERVE A BREAK SOONER rather than later!!!

Leave a Reply

